Features
18 jan 21

Fleet Managers share best practices at Global Fleet Summit APAC

Multinational corporations are often struggling to optimise their vehicle fleet management practices in APAC. A series of experienced fleet managers from the region will share their best practices at the Global Fleet Summit APAC.

You can still register for the 2021 Global Fleet Summit APAC

The fleet ecosystem in the Asia Pacific region is complex and diverse, in terms of economic maturity, product and service offering and cultural differences. To support fleet decision makers with an APAC responsibility in detecting, selecting and implementing the right solutions for their fleet and mobility business strategies, Global Fleet invited a number of highly experienced fleet managers to the first-ever Global Fleet Summit APAC for international fleet and mobility leaders.

Have a look at the full programme here. Below is an overview of sessions with those fleet managers.

Picturing the APAC Fleet Landscape

20 January, 8.30am – 9.10am CET / 3.30pm – 4.10pm SGT

During the first session, we establish a baseline of the Fleet Ecosystem in APAC, from both an OEM and a funding perspective. The APAC car fleet landscape is a complex one, where the supply chain operates locally rather than regionally, and where negotiating regional agreements remains a challenge. The expert speakers will take you on a journey through Asia Pacific and share with you their experience and research. The most prominent OEMs in the major fleet countries will be discussed, as well as the most suitable funding methods. The landscape baseline exercise is essential for the International Fleet Manager’s understanding of the region and, consequently, necessary to determine the fleet strategies.

With Yang Xiangyu, Fleet Operation Director, PingAn

Identifying the importance of sub-regional identities in APAC

20 January, 9.10am – 9.30am CET / 4.10pm – 4.30pm SGT

From China to New Zealand and from Turkey to Japan, APAC is a vast and highly complex region with as many identities as there are countries. Dividing your various local fleets into manageable and “bite-size” groups makes therefore a lot of sense from various perspectives: policy, sourcing and fleet management, control. But which countries go well with each other? And how to divide APAC in manageable sub-regions?

With Nachiket Anavekar, Regional Head Facilities APAC & China, Syngenta

Debate: APAC Fleet & Mobility Experiences and Expectations

20 January, 10.30am – 11am CET / 5.30pm – 6pm SGT

Fleet management in APAC is like a long and winding road. No one should be afraid to make mistakes, but why not learn from your peers and avoid them? In this debate session, global and APAC fleet managers are sharing their success stories and less successful experiences in developing, implementing, and managing fleets across APAC.

With David Staples, Regional Category Manager Travel & Fleet APAC, Roche, Huub Smeets, Global Fleet Manager, Philip Morris International and Timothy Tang, Regional PROC Manager – Enabling Functions, Bayer

Breakout session: Innovative but successful fleet sourcing strategies for APAC

20 January, 11.30am – 12pm CET / 6.30pm – 7pm SGT

No one size fits all. This is certainly the case for fleet sourcing across APAC. Differences in supplier presence, service offering, legislation and taxation and employee expectations ask for a well-thought sourcing approach.

With Ivor Johnson, Senior Director Global Fleet Services, Pfizer

How to develop a regional APAC strategy that fits your corporate ojectives

21 January, 8.30am – 8.50am CET / 3.30pm – 3.50pm SGT

Strategy-writing is part of the fleet and mobility manager’s DNA. Nonetheless, in APAC’s highly diversified cultural, business and fleet environment, many new parameters come to play. So, it’s vital to adjust regional expectations to local realities and practicalities. The key messages here: chose your battles, distribute milestones over realistic timelines and work closely with your local colleagues.

With Yit Ming NG, Regional Procurement Manager Asia Oceania Africa, Nestlé Group

Authored by: Benjamin Uyttebroeck